You okay?

In America, when someone approaches you and asks, “are you okay?” it usually means that it seems like something is wrong. Not in England. Here, it is simply a statement of greeting, such as, “how are you?” This is only one of many things that I have discovered about other cultures since arriving in Liverpool last Saturday.

I’ve been here less than a week, and I already feel like so much has happened! That’s why I am just starting this blog now. My goal was to start it before leaving the U.S., but alas, it is 2:30am and I am only now getting around to it. I guess procrastination knows no borders.

Although I have already met many wonderful, wonderful people all from different places, I have yet to really get to know any British students! It turns out that the halls that I’m living in are more for international students, which means that I now have a variety of new countries to visit sometime in the future. From Finland to New York, my horizons have already begun to expand. And I love every minute of it.

It amazes me how much people have in common. Even though many of my new friends do not speak English as their first language, that barrier is not nearly as large as I expected. It usually makes for many jokes and good discussions about life, love, and even the occasional youtube sensation. I think, as an American, I always thought that people from other countries would live very different, maybe even more barbaric, lifestyles than myself. In reality, we are all still a bunch of young adults trying to figure things out for ourselves and hoping to find others who are doing the same.

It really struck me tonight. I was sitting with a bunch of my new girlfriends talking about friendships and guys and drama and the other silly things that we women talk about. As I was sharing some of my own stories, I looked around at the group: a boisterous Minnesotan, a wonderful Wisconsinite, a lovely Finn, and two fantastic girls from Madrid. What I saw wasn’t a bunch of countries and states, but simply people. People who understood me even though they may not have been able to catch every English word or phrase. They understood my heart.

 

But this is only the beginning. The first post of many. I can only imagine what is yet to come.

 

Cheers. xoxo

2 comments

  1. Buddy Loral

    It sounds like there is a natural social instinct that is shared no matter what nationality you are. Such a beautiful thing, and yet it is so very under appreciated. I envy the conversations you must be having and look forward about hearing about everything you witness and interpret. I’ll be sure to tap a pint with a stranger to get a feeling of what I have read.

    • Deb

      Jessie! We are so happy to hear from you!!! It sounds great and a new adventure to be had. Isn’t life wonderful 🙂 I now can picture you. You must describe your surroundings… You know me… Details- posts pics if you can. A warm hug from the states to you and your new friends. We are with papa and Grammies tonight. Everyone’s good. Papa has his procedure on Thursday October 4th. Send a prayer of success up to our awesome God. Love you, DebbieTom and papa and grammie. P.s. you register for classes next week? I will email you for FaceTime . What times are good for you. I will work around your time.

Thoughts?